Posted by: bkivey | 6 January 2010

That blog you do

This is my blog. There are many like it, but this one is mine.

Hello and welcome to my contribution to the blogosphere. The creation of this blog was motivated by the fact that in emails to family and friends I will often write several hundred words on subjects of interest to me. It occurred to me (and probably the recipients of my missives) that my incisive commentary was perhaps not getting the audience it deserved when written for the few or the one.

I expect that the primary focus of this blog will be commentary and observation. I will most certainly not drone on about what I did today or how many reps I did at the gym. As such I may post daily, or not, as the motivation strikes. If my musings are of interest you can sign up for an RSS feed. This is a personal blog, so the opinions and demented ramblings are my own and do not represent the views of any other person or entity. I will note and credit sources both factual and inspirational.

A few words on my thinking on blog etiquette.

If you link to this blog or my website I will visit your blog or website. I will only link to you if I like what you are doing. In my estimation linking to a site or a blog is an endorsement, and you only endorse stuff that you like, right?

I welcome commentary; it’s what sets blogs apart and greatly contributes to the sense of community that bloggers enjoy. However, if you wouldn’t say something to my face or to your Mom then sure as hell don’t post it as a comment. I’ll remove it and notify the Powers That Be at WordPress and let them have their way with you. I welcome debate on the merits but if you’re gong to throw a tantrum do it elsewhere.

If I make a mistake (?!) I will own up to it with full explication. I will clearly cite sources with links and context, if required. I have enough stuff of my own where I don’t need to steal from others.

So there you have it, my first blog post. I plan on noodling around with this for a while to see if it is something I want to do and if anybody pays attention to it. Hopefully I will find the voice that makes for entertaining writing.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Categories

