Posted by: bkivey | 13 December 2010

Taking A Header

Throughout the year I’ve rotated the blog header pictures monthly. All of the headers this year are photos I’ve taken, and I’ve tried to have the header reflect some aspect of the month in which it appears. Next year I’ll include photos from other sources, starting with January. Meanwhile, here’s a roundup of the year’s headers and something about them.

January

 

Taken on a cold, foggy winter day near twilight at a river side park in Albany, OR. Camera was a Canon AE-1 using Fuji ASA 100 color print film (this is my standard camera/film combination). I was intrigued by the bare trees fading into the mist and the juxtoposition of the green grass with the predominant greys.

February

This was actually taken during the summer in the Columbia Gorge. I used the 35mm point-and-shoot camera I kept in my car. A spectacular sunset.

March

This image was captured during the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival and the weather shown is typical for the time of year.  I got down in the dirt to capture the contrast between the bright flowers and the gloomy sky.

April

Taken during the Northwest Art & Air Festival in Albany, OR. I would have much preferred a blue sky, but in April, when the Festival used to be held, grey skies are more the norm. The event has been moved to August, when much more amenable weather can be expected.

May

I find covered bridges fascinating from both an engineering and aesthetic point of view and this example is the Parvin bridge in Lane County, OR.

June

Outside of Mt. Hood, these are probably the four most famous peaks in Oregon. This view of Broken Top (on the left) and the Three Sisters (South, Middle, and North from left to right) was taken just west of Sisters, OR. The Sisters are also known as, from south to north, Faith, Hope, and Charity.

I liked the contrasting and distinct ‘bands’ of color in this composition, although forest and farm are underexposed because the camera was set to aperture priority and metered off the snow on the peaks.

July

Moving away from Oregon, this is the view north from Trophy Point at West Point, NY. I used a 35mm point-and-shoot camera, and the time is mid-afternoon, so the light was a little difficult to work with. I like the way the light softens the distant features and the sky to give the photograph a painting-like effect.

August

View of the underside of the parabolic collectors of the SEGS solar power plant at Kramer Junction, CA. Taken with a 35mm point-and-shoot, I was interested in the symmetry of the structures and the way they faded off to the vanishing point.

September

 

This sunset was captured near George, WA with a 35mm point-and-shoot while on my way to a concert at The Gorge (Roger Waters, if you’re curious). In addition to the brilliant colors, you can see faint crepuscular rays at the top of the image.

October

Taken in Eatontown, NJ, I wanted to capture the brilliant colors of the foliage from an unusual angle, so I pointed the camera up through the tree rather than the usual landscape shot.

November

A study of fire escapes in Hood River, OR. The day was overcast and I used a Canon A-1 with a red filter on a 50mm lens to homogenize the sky and ‘flatten’ the light. I like the geometry in this composition and the way the reflections of the ironwork show up in the window. This is a photograph that came out exactly the way I envisioned it.

December

 

Although it has an appropriately ‘wintry’ look, I actually captured this image of Mt. Hood while scouting camping sites in April or May.

Leave a Reply

Categories

