Posted by: bkivey | 10 May 2012

Grasscatcher Pt. 2

Cleaning out odds and ends. Grasscatcher Pt. 1 is here.

Why Didn’t I Think of That?

The Star Trek pizza cutter. Nerdy and useful, but way cooler than a pocket protector. Or one of those calculator belt cases that I may have worn in high school.

If you want to really geek out your kitchen, why not have a  Shuttlecraft butter dish? Fact: When Desilu execs saw the drawings for the Shuttlecraft, they complained that it looked like . . . a butter dish. Or, perhaps a hand phaser BBQ lighter. “Mr. Sulu, set briquets to ‘glow’.”  Now that I think about it, why not make a mini-torch in the shape of a hand phaser (Type I or II)? Folks on the jobsite would be begging to braze pipe. It would be awesome. I suppose you could make one resembling a lightsaber, but that would just be lame.

100 Years of Consumer Tech

From the website for The Atlantic magazine comes this chart illustrating 100 years of consumer technology in the household. I’m sure I’m not alone when I say that every one of these technologies is present in my house. I suppose I could say that I am the 60%. From a personal standpoint, we got our first color TV (13″) about 1972. It stayed in my father’s office, and we (the kids) weren’t allowed to watch it. In fact, we didn’t watch much TV at all, but there were plenty of books around.  I bought my first computer in 1986. I got my first microwave in 1988. I first used the Internet in 1996, and got my first (company issued) cellphone in 2006. I didn’t actually have a personal cellphone until 2008.

On a related note, I’m looking forward to the whale oil delivery tomorrow so I can light my lamps, and I’m getting a new buggy whip Monday.

A Brace of Related Items

Offered without comment is this headline: China Laughs at India’s ‘Dwarf’ Missile

I was in the library (Motto: Not Everything is on the Internet) a few days ago and saw woman reading a book titled Riding the Iron Rooster. This caused me to do a double take at the apparent double entendre. So I looked up the title. It’s not what you might think.

Why Kids Are Fat

From the L. Douglas Wilder Middle School newsletter from the 2010 – 2011 academic year, we learn that several Summer courses were available (scroll down a bit). Online courses included: Earth Science, Geometry, and Health & PE 9. I would like for someone to explain to me how one can take physical education (PE) online. Is it like The Sims? Does one enter a virtual locker room and virtually dress out? Do you have to climb a virtual rope? The mind boggles.

The Coolest Thing You’ll Hear This Week

I enjoy anything done well. Even if I have no interest in the activity, I appreciate mastery. This is why people watch Olympic sports that they’d have zero interest in otherwise. Excellence is it’s own reward, but we wouldn’t be human if we didn’t want others to notice, too.

I also enjoy classical music, and not just the stuff you hear on the ‘classic rock’ station. John Pachalbel is one of my preferred composers, and his Canon in D Major is well-known even by those who couldn’t tell a harpsichord from a hurdy-gurdy. So what would happen if a young man arranged this standard for electric guitar, and then proceeded to shred the motherloving daylights out of it? Well, this.

I’ve researched the video, and it appears legitimate. The man can play. If this doesn’t put a smile on your face, you’ve checked your soul at the door.

Leave a Reply

Categories

