Posted by: bkivey | 9 February 2013

More Random Bits

Weather or Not

As another winter storm slams the Northeast, I’d just like to reaffirm how much I like living in a moderate climate. The best climate I’ve lived in was Hawai’i (surprise!), but if I can’t be there, the river valleys of western Washington and Oregon aren’t bad. It doesn’t get too hot or too cold for long, and as I’ve noted, from July to mid-October, this is the best place in the world. There is a lot of grey for 8 months of the year, but major storms are rare. And if I want to see snow, I can visit it in it’s native habitat in the mountains.

Landing

Want to see 4 1/2 hours of landings at San Diego International Airport compressed into 25 seconds? Check out this video.

Back To The Future

Pro cyclist and Pride of Luxembourg Andy Schleck Tweeted this about the recent Superbrawl:

“watching super bowl CLVII . i’m not going to miss this!”

No information on who was playing in the 2123 edition of the Big Game.

I lived in San Francisco in the mid-’80’s, so I had a team to root for. I watched the game at a local bar, and during the second quarter (when I got there), people would ignore the game, but watch the commercials. After the halftime blackout, when San Francisco came roaring back, people started watching the game. Curiously for a West Coast bar, nearly everyone was rooting for the Ravens, so I enjoyed the third quarter fireworks all the more. As a football fan, I really enjoyed the second half, but was disappointed with the final result. Still, a very good game.

Note: In the Friday edition of the local paper, there was an article on the game-day fashion of bar patrons. Among the questions was who the person was rooting for. One women said she wanted to watch the Puppy Bowl, but the bartender wouldn’t put it on. On the one hand, it does take a certain amount of gumption to walk into a bar and ask to see the Puppy Bowl, on the other hand: Really?

Regrets on Dying

Found this article in the UK Guardian on the top five regrets of dying people. Australian palliative care nurse Bronnie Ware has apparently asked patients what their greatest regrets were, and found that there were five general themes. If you’re interested, read the article, but none of them are what I would have thought would be the  greatest regret on dying, and that is: I’m dying.

This Person Can Vote

From the Google+ page for Nina’s Coffee Cafe in St. Paul, MN:

ZEE GEE reviewed 11 months ago

Overall Good
overrated this coffee shop is. a small coffee is $2.10, why cant it just be $2.00 even? stuff like that annoys a person like me who hates spending money. their food is overpriced so i never get that either. its always super crowded too so i never stick around in there. one time my teacher from the college of visual arts had individual meetings with us there because the college didnt have an extra space for her to have them in.
Liked: Atmosphere, Service
Disliked: Food, Value

If you liked that, go here for more pearls of wisdom.

Heaven . . . The Video Game?.

When I stumbled across this, I didn’t know quite what to make of it. You’ll have to see for yourself.

Word Watch

The word today is ‘crackulate‘. I gather from context that it’s a high-falutin’ way of saying ‘crack’.

Leave a Reply

Categories

