Posted by: bkivey | 29 October 2013

I Just Can’t Live Without My Radio

Because I don’t have TV, most of my entertainment comes from the radio. The only thing I miss are live sporting events, and this isn’t much of a problems, as I much prefer the radio announcers to the TV version. There can be some difficulty if there is more than one game on of interest. In those cases, I’ll repair to a local watering hole and watch. Recently there were four games on simultaneously that I wanted to see: the World Series, an NFL game, the MLS Portland Timbers, and the WHL Winterhawks. Winterhawks games are not usually televised, but the tavern I went to had the other three games on the three screens above the bar. Awesome!

The only stations I listen to regularly are the jazz, classical, and community radio offerings, as well as talk radio. Over time I’ve found programs on the stations that I look forward to. All of the FM stations have links for live streaming, as well as program descriptions. All times are Pacific.

KMHD-FM

The local jazz station, and winner of ‘Jazz Station of the Year” for 2012 from Jazz Week. They play a nice mix from various artists, and the DJ’s know their stuff. They do tend to feature brass and guitar artists over others.

Something Different – Monday – Thursday 2300 – 0000

Divaville – Wednesday 1900 – 2100 and re-aired Saturday 1300 – 1500

The Soulful Strut – Friday 1600 – 1800

Groovology – Friday 1800 – 2000

The Lowdown – Friday 2000 – 2200

KQAC-FM

All classical, all the time. They play the usual suspects, but do throw some lesser known and more modern composers into the mix.

Metropolitan Opera – Saturday 1000 – 1400 (December to May)

Club Mod – Saturday 2000 – 2200

The Score – Saturday/Sunday 1400 – 1500

KBOO-FM

Community radio, They provide an eclectic mix of programming, some of it decidedly political.

Sub-Human Intellect Theatre – Monday 2300 – 0000

Tiki Cha-Cha Club – Tuesday 0000 – 0100

Africa O-Ye! – Thursday 1400 – 1600

You’ll notice that there aren’t any rock stations. I like rock just fine; most of my music collection is rock. But the songs in most station’s rotations have been played to death. Listening to these stations has expanded my musical horizons and added a variety of music to my ‘wish list’.

Other than talk radio and sports broadcasts, the only time I listen to AM radio is radio theatre.

KPAM-AM

Imagination Theatre – Sunday 2100 – 2300

As recently as last Sunday this was a two-hour program, although a look at the schedule shows something else in the 2200 – 2300 slot. I hope that isn’t the case, as those two hours of theatre are a nice change from musical programming, and give a hint of radio’s ‘Golden Age’. This is a syndicated program, so it may be on a station near you.

Auuuuughhhh!

I went to Home Depot last week, and noticed an entire aisle of Christmas trees and related items. I used to complain about retailers holding off until after Thanksgiving; now I’ll settle for after Halloween.

Car Talk

License plate seen on a Mustang Cobra: CMYASP

We’ve Only Just Begun

It seems that a pre-existing condition will get you rejected for health insurance under Obamacare: if your current plan doesn’t fit the requirements of the new law.

WTF?

I saw a car commercial that had me do a double take. The commercial shows Will Ferrel in his ‘Anchorman’ persona pitching a truck, and he’s accompanied by a white horse. I wondered if the ad creators were referencing the song ‘White Horse‘ by Laid Back. At the end of the commercial, a white pony appears, which seems too cute for coincidence.

I like the song, but the content isn’t something an auto company would want to be associated with. The song came out in 1983, so I can see how most people would miss the reference, but I can’t help but wonder if the ad creators weren’t slipping something in.

Leave a Reply

Categories

