Posted by: bkivey | 24 June 2014

Cishet? You Bet!

The Portland Mercury is one of the two alternate weeklies I read, and recently while noodling around on their website I chanced upon the I, Anonymous blog (I could post every day just using this as source material). This is a forum where people can write on whatever they want, and in keeping with the Mercury’s editorial bent, usually in NSFW language. This gem was posted on 21 June:

Wake up: It’s time for a cultural shift.

Posted by Anonymous on Sat, Jun 21, 2014 at 12:00 AM

Aside from the blatant bigotry, I really wish people would make the effort to respect one’s gender identity. I identify as a glittery fem-boy gender fluid accepting towards all except cishets (I’m sorry cis people). When I was a teen, I identified as both androsexual and demisexual (demi-androsexual), then in my early twenties, I found myself at a crossroads between skoliosexual (attracted to genderqueer and transsexual people) and gynesexual/gynephilic (attracted to females, women, and/or femininity). Things got a little “easier” in my mid-twenties and I found myself experimenting with adrosexuality (which isn’t just attraction to men {and certainly not just attraction to cismen}, it’s attraction to all things manly, which would not only cover post transition men, but also women expressing as men). We all have our own journeys, so don’t assume I want to be labeled a “he/him/his,” I only respond to the pronouns such as zir, zim, zey (Transgender, genderqueer, and other gender-variant people {LGBTTIQQ2SA people} may choose different pronouns for themselves; please be mindful of this). Gendered pronouns makes you sound completely out of touch, so look up the Spivak model for gender-neutral third person pronouns
(ey/em/eir/eirs/eirself) for an example. Or use Ne” is n+(he or she), “nem” is n+her+him, “nir” isn+him+her. “Ve” is another good option, without a specific bias towards either gender. Become a real human being, educate yourself and be RESPECTFUL- it’s not that hard.

Surprisingly for the demographic that makes up the bulk of the Mercury readership, the comments are uniformly dismissive. A couple of commenters float the idea that the piece is satire. I hadn’t thought of that, primarily because this is just the sort of drivel that’s routinely offered in this neck of the woods, and from this news item about a recent decision from the Vancouver, BC school board. If it is satire, it’s brilliant.

My thought on the Vancouver item is that people don’t generally address other people with pronouns. Even if someone says ‘Hey, you’, ‘you’ in English is gender-neutral.

But to the larger point, I had to do some research to understand half of what this person was saying (if your audience doesn’t understand what you’re saying, you’ve failed to communicate). I looked up the words, then went to several websites and blogs that cater to the gender confused. They all had a remarkable similarity to the radical lesbian feminists I wrote about a few years ago. They’re accepting of a wide range of lifestyles in the same way people can see a wide range of colors in a very narrow part of the electromagnetic spectrum.

Whether or not the example post is satire, there are people who are so self-absorbed that they actually think their self-obsession is important to others. It’s not. My opinion is that those who are gender-identity obsessed don’t have any talents or abilities to draw attention to themselves, and to get that attention, they have to invent problems and portray themselves as victims.

Today in History

451 – 10th recorded perihelion passage of Halley’s Comet

The comet’s period is 76 years, so the first recorded passage would have been in 309 BC.

1128 – Afonso I of Portugal defeats army of his mother Theresa

2014 – Portugal ties US in a World Cup match. Not quite the same.

1861 – Tennessee becomes 11th (& last) state to secede from US

Next up: Texas.

1901 – 1st exhibition by Pablo Picasso, 19, opens in Paris

What were you doing at 19?

1938 – 500 ton meteorite lands near Pittsburgh Pennsylvania

Not sure ‘lands’ is the right word here.

1947 – Flying saucers sighted over Mount Rainier by pilot Ken Arnold

First recorded UFO’s in the US.

1961 – Iraq demands dominion over Kuwait

1991: demands answered.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

