Posted by: bkivey | 10 September 2015

Of Mice and Men

I moved into my digs last November, and not long after noticed a mouse problem. I’d occasionally see a mouse run from the kitchen through the living room, but these are fast little mothers. By the time I notice them, they’re gone. I wasn’t really concerned: they weren’t leaving evidence of habitation, and they weren’t depriving me of anything.

But that’s changed.

Last week I saw that the under-sink trash bag had been gnawed through, and nesting material pulled out. This week chicken bones had been pulled out of the same trash bag. I understand that these are animals doing what they do, but they’ve intruded on my space. Time to reassert my apex predator status.

I procured a mousetrap, and put a bit of cheese on the actuating lever. I felt a bit guilty: the mouse (or mice) are cute and all, but there’s only room for one sheriff in this town.

The mice took the damn cheese without actuating the trap.

It’s ON. Mammal-a-mammal. I have no doubt of the outcome, but so far it’s Mice: 1 Me: 0.

Fall is Here

We’re back to Summer, but had a bit of a cool snap last week. Today I noticed the trees changing color, and leaves falling. We’ve had a hot, dry Summer. I have a feeling we’re going to see an interesting Winter.

My Favorite Joke This Week

Three Texans are walking down the street when they come upon some Japanese tourists speaking Japanese.

“Hey”, a Texan says, “This is America: speak Spanish!”

Responses

  1. I too, have had a rodent problem ever since I moved into my suburban domocile last August. However, they seem content enough to stay in the ceiling and I’ve never seen evidence of rodent habitation in my actual living space so I don’t stress too much about it. It is a little disconcerting listening to happy rodent feet running about above my head in the bathroom or bedroom, particularly when I’m lying in bed reading or trying to go to sleep! Basically, unless you thoroughly block access to the foundation of the building, a new rodent family will always move in no matter how many you exterminate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

