Posted by: bkivey | 1 January 2016

Personal Year in Review

On balance, 2015 was a better-than-average year. The business grew some, and I got to do some cool stuff. ‘Cool stuff’ doesn’t include three hours in Canadian customs.

Some of the things I’ll remember from the year just passed:

  • Three jobs at the Oregon coast. I like the Oregon coast. Every one of the days, including the last day in March, was sunny and pleasant. On each occasion I was able to finish the work by noon, giving me a half-day to play tourist. Those days were better vacations than my actual vacation, which bring me to:
  • My vacation. I can charitably call this week a mixed bag at best. I documented the experience in the ‘Canadian Vacation’ series of posts. I did get to see Banff National Park; a goal since childhood. This was a vacation I enjoy more the further in the past it is, if that makes sense.
  • The best book I read last year was The Journals of Lewis and Clark (Bernard DeVoto, Houghton Mifflin, 1953). A truly fascinating look at the earliest organized American expedition from the Mississippi to the West Coast. After I’d finished the book I had the opportunity to visit the Fort Clatsop reproduction near Astoria, making the history of the Expedition a multi-media interactive experience.

For the year upcoming, my goals are:

  • Grow the business 10%.
  • Develop other income to the point of $500 net/month.
  • See all five of the Great Lakes.
  • Make more progress on the unread books on my shelves. I’m currently reading Origin of Species and the essays of Francis Bacon.
  • Research countries to emigrate to if a Democrat wins in November. OK, I’m only sort of kidding about that.

I’m looking forward to the next twelve months. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Categories

