Posted by: bkivey | 1 January 2017

Holiday Etiquette

We’re at the end of the holiday season in the US, and for no other reason than I want to, I’m posting my holiday practices.

Thanksgiving

Not working. Never have: not looking to start. Spending time with people, eating like an American, watching football, not giving a damn.

Christmas

See above. As a nominal Christian I recognize the day for what it is. Christmas marks the start of for what is for all intents and purposes ‘Dead Week’. People ‘work’, but they’re kind of going through the motions. I’m no different. It’s a goal of mine to be able to take this week off. Maybe in Florida.

New Year’s Day

Kind of a non-holiday for me. If I get it off, great! If not, no biggie. I have to get the books squared away for the new year anyway. This year I had it off. All football, all the time.

Snow

It snowed about 1/2″ early on New Year’s Day. This isn’t looking good for the Winter. Temps aren’t expected to be above freezing for the next several days, so fun times driving. For those keeping score at home, this weather is well below normal.

It is my sincere wish that everyone find a little peace and progress this year. We’re a small part of a big Universe: let’s make our difference here.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Happy new year! Hope goals are met and health is good.

    • Hi Joe,

      Thank you for the good wishes; after last year I think we’re going to need all the luck we can get. I did what I could: two shotgun blasts at midnight (one to say goodbye to 2016, the other to welcome 2017) and the traditional black eye peas and collard greens New Years Day.

      Looking to get back to Detroit this year: I hardly saw the place last year. Maybe a long weekend this Summer when the Tigers are in town.


Leave a Reply

Categories

